Private Healthcare Bollocks

I said I’d offer you some images of my injury and recover, but in all honesty they’re more boring than the rest of my posts. There is just a collection of bruises around my knee and calf and the scars are nothing special. It looks rather like I’m the victim of domestic violence and the inflicter was a rather stocky but equally revolting little chihuahua.

However my recovery isn’t going great. I could walk now I can’t. The reason; we don’t fully know. Now I don’t expect it to be the plot of some sci-fi movie, where the reason I can’t walk is that aliens have planned an invasion and have made me an invalid because I’m the only one that can save planet Earth, even though that would be awesome (assuming all is resolved and I get the girl) but I’m surprised that private healthcare isn’t able or willing to fully identify what is wrong with me.

They believe I’ve had some bleeding and that clotted blood is around my calf, increasing pressure and causing me pain, and locking my calf in place, preventing me from walking. But this hasn’t been identified, no MRI scan or ultrasound has been proposed. What they are doing is treating the symptoms, so I’ve had antibiotics, pain relief and a massage. I’m guessing they make more money that way and I’m no better as a result. If anything it’s gotten worse.

I can’t see my consultant until next week and I still can’t walk. This is bullshit.

Leave a Reply

